Am I Happy?

Standard

12 Things Happy People do Differently:

  1. Express gratitude.
  2. Cultivate optimism.
  3. Avoid over-thinking and social comparison.
  4. Practice acts of kindness.
  5. Nurture social relationships. 
  6. Develop strategies for coping
  7. Learn to forgive. 
  8. Increase flow experiences.
  9. Savor life’s joys
  10. Commit to your goals.
  11. Practice spirituality. 
  12. Take care of your body.

Today I found this list of things happy people do differently.  It made me really ask myself if I am happy.  For the most part, I would say yes.  And really it does come down to when I do actually practice these 12 things in my life.  When I’m not taking care of my body, when I’m not being optimistic, when I’m not working on my relationships, or when I’m not taking time to savor the small things in life, I don’t feel as happy as when I am doing all of those things.  I know it sounds kind of cheesy, and seems so simple, but it can be really hard to do all of these things all of the time.  And it seems when I fail at one thing, I so easily fail at others.  I think out of all the things on this list, I fail most at #11.  I always make time every morning to pray, but then the day flies by and I fall into bed without once really giving my heart and mind to God, really connecting with him more than those few minutes on my knees in the morning.  I know that as I make more effort to be connected to God, that the other things will be easier – because I will be connected to myself.  I want to be a more spiritual person.  I feel like I have been a more spiritual person in the past, and because of some of the experiences and challenges I have faced, I am not that way anymore.  Obviously I am not the same person, you don’t stay the same person – your experiences will always change you – but I want my experiences (whether good OR bad) to change me into a more spiritual person.  To turn to God because of them (and sometimes despite of them), and become more spiritual because of it.  I struggle with feeling worthy in His eyes, I struggle with #7 on the list – not with forgiving others, but with forgiving myself – and because of these things, I deny myself of love and blessings and HAPPINESS.  It’s sometimes hard to believe that he loves me despite my imperfections.  But believing He is the merciful, forgiving, loving FATHER that the scriptures claim He has, how can I not believe that??  I must believe it, for my own happiness, now and forever.

Image

Leave a Reply

