Beautiful

Standard

“Beauty is how you feel inside and it reflects in your eyes. It is not something physical.” ~Sophia Loren

Lately I have been really obsessed with how I look.  My face has been breaking out really bad (at 30 … 15 years of this, will it never end?!?), and it seems that the more I do to try and fix my face, the worse it is becoming.  I have tried different treatments, and the only thing it seems they have done is make me break out worse and make me feel worse about myself and my looks.  I have been so focused on the ‘physical’, that I have actually gone into hiding at work, barely coming out of my office, because I am so embarassed about this mess of a face.  But the more I have thought (obsessed) about this, I have come to realize something.  Noone else cares.  Noone else looks at me the way I look at me: judgmental, critical, unloving.  I don’t think I am beautiful because I am so focused on what I think the outside should look like, that I have neglected to take care of my inner beauty, which is what it is all about anyway.  If I am loving and unjudgmental towards myself, people will feel that love and see that love, and that love is what is beautiful.  NOT the red spots on my face.  This outer shell is not eternal, and if I WAS beautiful and could easily love myself, what lesson would I learn then??  I must learn to love the true me, the me that is not anything physical, but is utterly and completely spiritual and eternal. XOXO

Leave a Reply

